The 75th anniversary celebration of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs underscored the school's increasing global perspective. The three-day event in September featured a convocation address by James R. Sasser, recently retired U.S. ambassador to China; the first of the Goekjian Faculty Lectures, which provide an interdisciplinary forum for faculty members whose primary research area is global affairs; and discussions with experts in Latin American politics and Asian financial matters.
      The event also included the announcement that SU Trustee Gerald B. Cramer '52 had pledged $5 million to Maxwell, in part to support two professorships in global affairs that will enable the school to expand its activities around the world (see related story). Margaret Hermann, professor of political science, and David Richardson, professor of economics and international relations, were named the first Gerald and Daphna Cramer Professors of Global Affairs. The gift also created a professorship in aging studies, with political science professor Doug Wolf becoming the first Gerald B. Cramer Professor of Aging Studies.
      The celebration began September 22 with the Goekjian lecture in the Global Collaboratory in Eggers Hall. The series is named for Samuel V. Goekjian '52, an SU trustee and Maxwell Advisory Board member, and allows second-year faculty members to present their scholarly works in global affairs in a cross-departmental forum. Two September 23 events brought other global affairs experts to Maxwell. Theodore S. Wilkinson, a retired U.S. Foreign Service official and expert on Latin American government and politics, discussed "The Peru-Ecuador Border Dispute: The Dilemmas of Conflict Resolution." Ronnie C. Chan, chairman of the Hang Lung Development Group of Hong Kong, attended a dinner for National Security Studies management course participants to discuss Asian financial markets and the general economic recovery of the region.
      Sasser—who retired in 1999 after serving as ambassador to China since 1995 and who was a U.S. senator from Tennessee from 1977 to 1995—addressed a convocation on September 24. "He knows Maxwell well," Dean John L. Palmer says, "having worked closely with many alumni in Washington during his years in the Senate, and having followed the school's work in China with great interest during his years in Beijing. The ambassador understands firsthand the growing significance of China in world affairs and the challenges and opportunities of Sino-American relations."
      During the convocation, Vice Chancellor and Provost Deborah Freund announced that Maxwell's Patricia Ingraham had been named SU's Distinguished Professor of Public Administration. Ingraham, who directs the Maxwell School's Alan K. Campbell Public Affairs Institute, is the first woman and one of only 16 active faculty members to hold Distinguished Professor status, conferred by the Office of Academic Affairs in recognition of significant scholarly contributions by faculty members over time.
      At a dinner dance later that day, Palmer announced a number of awards and honors recognizing faculty and staff for their scholarship, teaching, service, and dedication.
      Two Maxwell Professors were named, designating faculty members with distinguished scholarly careers who have made outstanding contributions to the school's multidisciplinary traditions: Stephen S. Webb as Maxwell Professor of History and Social Science, and Timothy M. Smeeding as Maxwell Professor of Public Policy. Six new Maxwell Professors of Teaching Excellence were named, acknowledging their sustained contributions to the school's students and teaching community: Kristi J. Andersen, professor and chair of the political science department; Douglas V. Armstrong, professor and chair of the anthropology department; Gary Spencer, professor and chair of the sociology department; Jeffrey D. Straussman, professor of public administration; John C. Western, professor of geography; and Frederick D. Marquardt, professor of history.
      Ann Phelps G'80, Maxwell's director of career and alumni services, received the Maxwell Dean's Citation for Exceptional Service to the school. Maxwell Spirit of Public Service Awards were presented to two individuals whose public leadership and contributions to society epitomize the ideals of the Maxwell School: Walter Broadnax G'75, dean of the School of Public Affairs at American University, SU trustee, and Maxwell School Advisory Board member; and Esther Gray '99, senior secretary in Maxwell's Center for Policy Research. Sociology professor Christine L. Himes received the Daniel Patrick Moynihan Prize for outstanding scholarship, teaching, and service, given annually to a junior member of the Maxwell faculty.
                                                                                                —FROM STAFF REPORTS

Back to page 5
Back to page 4
Back to page 3
Back to page 2
Back to page 1

Main Home Page Contents Chancellor's Message Opening Remarks
Up Front Maxwell At 75 Helping Out Keeper of the Vision
Keys to Success Alumni Academic Leaders Quad Angles Campaign News
University Place Student Center Staff Circle Faculty Focus
Alumni News/Notes Cover To Cover View From The Hill

E-mail the magazine editor
E-mail the web guy
820 Comstock Ave., Rm. 308
Syracuse, NY 13244-5040