Named Professorships

The Michael O. Sawyer Chair in Constitutional Law, 1994.

The Louis A. Bantle Chair in Business and
      Government Policy, 1994.

The Gerald B. and Daphna Cramer Professors of
      Global Affairs, 1999.

Gerald B. Cramer Professor of Aging Studies, 1999.

The Maxwell Professors of Teaching Excellence, 1999.

The Krisher Professor of Economics, 1999.

The George Bennett Professor of Accounting, 2000.

The Earl and Josephine Snyder Professor of Innovation
      Management and Entrepreneurship, 2000.

Trustee Professorships
Created in 2000, these awards honor faculty of extraordinary achievement and promise for even greater contributions in the future. The first Trustee Professors were announced in 2001. They are: Benita Blachman, School of Education; Douglas Holtz-Eakin, Maxwell School and College of Arts and Sciences; Robert J. Thompson, Newhouse School; and John Yinger, Maxwell School and A&S.

Hesburgh Award
Syracuse University received the Theodore M. Hesburgh Award in 1996 for its transformation to a student-centered research university. This award is sponsored by the Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association/College Retirement Equities Fund (TIAA/CREF) to recognize successful, innovative faculty development programs that enhance undergraduate teaching and inspire the growth of such initiatives at America’s colleges and universities.

Magazine of Higher Learning Lauds SU Reforms
In the July-August 2001 issue of Change: The Magazine of Higher Learning, University of Connecticut professor Barbara D. Wright takes a look at Syracuse’s progress, five years after receiving the Hesburgh Award, in achieving its goal of becoming the nation’s leading student-centered research university. Wright likes much of what she sees. “I found an institution,” she writes, “that has been brilliantly successful over the last 10 years.”
      The has special praise for the University’s readiness to put its money where its future is. She points to faculty salary incentives tied to teaching achievements, such as the Meredith Professorships; the Vision Fund, which helps promote creativity in the classroom; and the Gateway Fellowships, aimed specifically at the enhancement of lower-division courses. She is also impressed by the attention given to teaching concerns in the mentoring of new faculty and in the work of the Center for Support of Teaching and Learning.
      Vice Chancellor and Provost Deborah A. Freund believes that with the University’s commitment to undergraduate teaching and learning now firmly in place, it’s time to focus renewed energy on the research mission of the student-centered research university. “We are different from a small liberal arts college and I’m proud of it,” Freund says, pointing to the advantages of having top researchers on the faculty. Wright registers a warning about a possible loss of momentum for student-centered reform, but adds: “My sense is, if anybody can pull this off, it’s Syracuse University.”
      For a complete text of the article, go to

Back to page 1
Back to page 2
Back to page 3
Back to page 4
Back to page 5
Back to page 6
Back to page 7
Continued on page 9
Continued on page 10
Continued on page 11
Continued on page 12
Continued on page 13
Continued on page 14
Continued on page 15
Continued on page 16
Continued on page 17
Continued on page 18
Continued on page 19
Continued on page 20
Continued on page 21
Continued on page 22
Continued on page 23
Continued on page 24
Continued on page 25
Continued on page 26
Continued on page 27
Continued on page 28
Continued on page 29

Main Home Page Contents Opening Remarks Charting the Future
A Decade of Progress Quad Angles SU People Alumni News/Notes
Cover To Cover View From The Hill

E-mail the magazine editor
E-mail the web guy
820 Comstock Ave., Rm. 308
Syracuse, NY 13244-5040