Syracuse University Magazine


The 2014 limited-edition Cut Paper Heart Forever stamp by Elizabeth “Q.” Cassetti G’07.


The 2014 Winter Flowers Forever stamps by William Low G’05.


Two alumni, who earned master’s degrees in illustration from the College of Visual and Performing Arts, have their artwork crisscrossing the country on envelopes. Artist Elizabeth “Q.” Cassetti G’07 of Trumansburg, New York, collaborated with the U.S. Postal Service (USPS) to create the limited-edition Cut Paper Heart Forever stamp, the 2014 offering in its popular Love stamps series that began in 1973. The USPS also released its 2014 Winter Flowers Forever stamps created by William Low G’05 of Huntington, New York. Low produced images of amaryllis, cyclamen, Christmas cactus, and paperwhite plants in bloom for the series. He also created the Poinsettia Forever stamp, which was released in October.

Four College of Arts and Sciences faculty members received Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) awards—the highest honor given by the National Science Foundation in support of early-career development activities of teacher-scholars. The recipients are chemistry professors Arindam “Ari” Chakraborty and Daniel A. Clark; and physics professors Stefan W. Ballmer and M. Lisa Manning.

U.S. Vice President Joe Biden L’68 was the keynote speaker at the award celebration for the Toner Prize for Excellence in Political Reporting on March 24 in Washington, D.C. The Toner Prize, sponsored by the Newhouse School, honors the life and work of the late Robin Toner ’76, the first woman to be national political correspondent for The New York Times.

The SU Marching Band teamed up with the Rutgers University Marching Band for a performance at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, as part of the pregame activities for Super Bowl XLVIII. The two bands played a mash-up of New York-New Jersey songs from the likes of Jon Bon Jovi, Frank Sinatra, Bruce Springsteen, and Jay-Z.

Professor Donald I. Siegel, chair of the Department of Earth Sciences, was named a 2013 American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fellow. Also receiving the honor was College of Arts and Sciences alumnus C. Page Chamberlain ’79, a professor of environmental Earth system science at Stanford.

College of Arts and Sciences Dean George M. Langford and M. Cristina Marchetti, the William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Physics, have each been named a 2013 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Langford will complete his term as dean on June 30, and plans to return to full-time teaching, research, and mentoring as Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience.

School of Education Dean Douglas Biklen G’73 retired in February after serving more than eight years as dean and four decades as a faculty member. Biklen, an expert on facilitated communication and longtime proponent of inclusive education, is also an author and documentary filmmaker.

College of Visual and Performing Arts fashion design majors Taylor Cioffi ’16 and Michelle Lee ’16 and New­house School advertising majors Katelynn Moreau ’14 and Jacqueline Soldano ’14 were named 2014 Young Menswear Association Fashion Scholarship Fund Scholars. They were each awarded $5,000 scholarships.

Geraldine de Berly, senior associate dean of University College, was honored with the University Professional and Continuing Education Association (UPCEA) International Leadership Award. The award recognizes innovative leadership in facilitating international professional and continuing education. De Berly also directs the English Language Institute at SU.

In recognition of his celebrated short story collection, Tenth of December, English professor George Saunders G’88 was awarded The Story Prize and the inaugural Folio Prize.

College of Law student Sean J. Quinn ’06, L’14 was named the winner of the 12th annual American Bar Association Health Law Student Writing Competition.

Newhouse student Alex Kline ’16 was named to the Forbes’ 30 under 30 sports list for the second straight year. Kline is the founder of The Recruit Scoop/ website.

Newhouse multimedia photography and design graduate student Taylor Baucom G’14 won first place in the sports category of the White House News Photographers Association’s “2014 Eyes of History” student video contest. Her winning video, The Crunch, focused on the Syracuse Crunch hockey team.

The Weather Channel named SU the snowiest NCAA Division I university in the country. According to the Weather Channel’s website: “Syracuse is heads and shoulders above the rest when it comes to average annual snowfall total, and you can thank lake-effect snow for that. Cuse gets more than 10 feet of snow every year. So, if you like snow, this top-notch basketball school in Syracuse, N.Y., is the place for you.”