Syracuse University Magazine

News Makers

Thomas V. Wolfe G’02, senior vice president and dean of the Division of Student Affairs, was named the 14th president of the Iliff School of Theology in Denver. Wolfe began his more than two-decade career at SU as the Interdenominational Protestant chaplain and was appointed the fifth dean of Hendricks Chapel in 1999. He was selected to lead the Division of Student Affairs in 2008.

Two College of Arts and Sciences faculty members—mathematics professor J. Theodore Cox and M. Cristina Marchetti, the William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Physics—have been appointed 2013 Simons Fellows. Cox received a $110,000 award, which he will use to study probability theory. Marchetti was awarded $129,000, which she will use for research on theoretical modeling of active matter.

Ryan Milcarek ’15, a mechanical engineering major in the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science, was named a 2013 recipient of an Astronaut Scholarship, given by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. The $10,000 scholarship is presented to 26 top science and engineering students nationwide.

Zachary West ’10, L’13 received the 2013 Burton Award for Distinguished Legal Writing. One of 15 students recognized nationally for the award, the College of Law graduate was cited for his work, “Young Fella, If You’re Looking for Trouble I’ll Accommodate You: Deputizing Companies for the Use of Hackback,” which was published in Volume 63 of the Syracuse Law Review.

Gina Lee-Glauser, vice president for research at Syracuse University and research professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science, was named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Sports Notes

The Syracuse men’s lacrosse team advanced to the NCAA championship game in May, but was upended by seventh-seeded Duke, 16-10, for the title at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia. The top-seeded Orange, appearing in the finals for the first time since it won the title in 2009, reached the championship with tournament victories against Bryant, Yale, and Denver. The squad finished its season with a 16-4 record. JoJo Marasco ’13, Big East Midfielder of the Year and a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award (the sport’s highest individual honor), was named to the U.S. Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-America First Team.

The SU women’s lacrosse team made its second straight appearance in the NCAA Final Four, where top-seeded Maryland downed the fourth-seeded Orange women, 11-10, at Villanova Stadium in May. North Carolina defeated Maryland, 13-12, in the third sudden-death overtime to capture the title. In the NCAA tourney, SU defeated Dartmouth and Florida en route to its fourth Final Four appearance since 2008. The SU women completed their season with an 18-4 record. Alyssa Murray ’14 collected several honors, including Big East Attack Player of the Year, Tewaaraton Award finalist, and Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association All-America First Team.

Distance runner Lauren Penney ’12, G’13 and hurdler Donald Pollitt ’15 were recognized as U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association First Team All-Americans following top-10 finishes at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Eugene, Oregon, in June. Penney finished eighth in the 5,000-meter run with a time of 16:01.09. Pollitt placed sixth in the 110-meter hurdles final, clocking in at 13.52 seconds.

SU men’s basketball coach Jim Boeheim ’66, G’73 has returned to his assistant coach position with USA Basketball. He’ll work with the men’s national team as it seeks a third straight Olympic gold at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Orange guard Michael Carter-Williams '15 was the 11th pick in the 2013 NBA Draft, going to the Philadelphia 76ers.

Orange women’s rower Natalie Mastracci ’13 was named a member of the 2013 Pocock All-America First Team by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA). Mastracci, who was also a 2010 All-American, earned a silver medal at the 2012 London Olympics as a member of the Canadian women's eight.

The CRCA honored six members of the Syracuse women’s rowing team as National Scholar Athletes: Rose Aschebrock ’15, Meryl Engler ’13, Caroline Habjan ’15, Amy Ludovici '15, Rebecca Soja ’14, and Miranda Williams ’14.

Orange women’s field hockey player Iona Holloway ’13 was named to the 2013 Capital One Academic All-America At-Large Second Team.