Syracuse University Magazine

News Makers

Carrie Mae Weems, a two-time SU artist-in-residence, instructor, and ongoing collaborator in the University’s engagement projects, was awarded a 2013 MacArthur Fellowship. The fellowships, commonly called “genius grants,” recognize extraordinary creative achievement and potential. One of 24 MacArthur Fellows chosen this year, Weems is a photographer and video installation artist whose work examines African American identity, class, and culture in the United States. She was also recognized by the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation during the Celebration of Leadership in the Fine Arts at the National Museum of Women in the Arts in September.

George Saunders G’88 and Rachel Kushner, Creative Writing Program faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences, had works nominated as finalists for the 2013 National Book Award in fiction. Saunders was cited for his book of short stories, Tenth of December (Random House), while Kushner, a visiting writer in the program, was honored for her novel The Flamethrowers (Scribner).

Evan Smith, professor of television, radio, and film at the Newhouse School, was one of two professors in the country to receive this year’s Teaching Excellence Award from the University Film & Video Association.

University College Dean Bethaida “Bea” Gonzalez G’04 is 2013-14 president-elect of the University Professional & Continuing Education Association, the Washington, D.C.-based organization for universities engaged in professional, continuing, and online education. She will serve as president in 2014-15.

Rick Welsh, professor of food studies in the Falk College Department of Public Health, Food Studies, and Nutrition, received the 2013 Fred Buttel Outstanding Scholarly Achievement Award from the Rural Sociological Society. The honor recognizes his collaborative research in agricultural science and technology.

Dawn M. Long, office coordinator and graduate secretary in the Department of Biomedical and Chemical Engineering in the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science, was elected to Golden Key International Honour Society’s council of advisors for a three-year term.

Sydney Hutchinson, ethnomusicology professor in the Department of Art and Music Histories in the College of Arts and Sciences, received a 2013-14 American Fellowship from the American Association of University Women.

Dave Dischiave, iSchool professor of practice and director of the Global Enterprise Technology and Systems Information Science programs, received IBM’s Big Data and Analytics Faculty Award for his development of curricula focusing on business and technical skills, one of 14 educators from institutions around the world to be recognized this year.

Ruth Small, a Meredith Professor at the iSchool and founding director of the Center for Digital Literacy, is co-editor of School Library Research, the American Association of School Librarians’ peer-reviewed online journal.

Newhouse School photojournalism major Luke Rafferty ’14 was one of 20 digital journalists chosen by the Online News Association (ONA) to take part in the ONA13 Student Newsroom, providing intensive coverage of the ONA conference and awards banquet held in Atlanta in October.

Bill Jasso, Newhouse School professor of practice in public relations, was named to the Public Relations Society of America College of Fellows, one of 14 new members elected recently.

Sarah Peng ’13, a communications design graduate in the College of Visual and Performing Arts, was one of eight winners of the Society of Publication Designers Student Outreach Committee Spotlight Online Gallery Show. The national competition invited students to submit their best editorial design work from the 2012-13 academic year for judging by a panel of editorial design professionals.

SU’s Thinklab was named an Educational Initiatives Professional Notable by Core77 as part of its 2013 Design Awards. Co-directed by College of Visual and Performing Arts industrial and interaction design professor Kathleen Brandt and School of Architecture professor Brian Lonsway, Thinklab offers a space and support structure for advancing transdisciplinary design work.

Ted Junko ’84, industrial and interaction design instructor in the Department of Design in the College of Visual and Performing Arts, won a bronze International Design Excellence Award from the Industrial Designers Society of America in the bathrooms, spas, and wellness category.