Syracuse University Magazine


Larry Martin was named vice president for program development. Martin, the longtime head of the Office of Program Development (OPD), has been with the University since 1976. Miguel Sapp ’82, L’88, G’89 recently joined the OPD as executive director of development and alumni relations.

Newhouse professor Douglas Quin, a sound designer and composer, debuted a live performance of “Aurora Passage” at the Arc Cinema in Australia. The multimedia composition combines piano, live narration, Antarctic soundscape recordings, and archival imagery based on the 1912-13 diaries of SY Aurora able-bodied seaman Bert Lincoln. The performance was the final in a series of live events marking the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia’s Extreme Film and Sound Exhibition, celebrating 100 years of Australasian Antarctic expeditions.

The U.S. Green Building Council recognized Chancellor Nancy Cantor, Onondaga County Executive Joanie Mahoney ’87, L’90, and Syracuse Mayor Stephanie Miner ’92 with its 2012 Global Community Leadership Award for their collective and collaborative efforts at fostering sustainability initiatives in Syracuse and Central New York.

Dean of Libraries and University Librarian Suzanne E. Thorin was appointed by President Barack Obama to the National Museum and Library Services Board. She was sworn in by Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg at a ceremony at the Supreme Court in November. Thorin is one of eight individuals newly appointed to serve as advisors to the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Arlene Kanter was named the Bond, Schoeneck & King Distinguished Professor at the College of Law for 2012-14. Kanter founded and directs the Disability Law and Policy Program, and co-directs the SU Center on Human Policy, Law, and Disability Studies.

University Professor Jan Cohen-Cruz received the Award for Leadership in Community-Based Theatre and Civic Engagement from the Association for Theatre in Higher Education. The award honors a leader with a high level of commitment and longevity in the field whose work demonstrates an innovative approach, high artistic quality, community and field-wide impact, and deep civic dialogue.

Dawn Long received the Golden Key International Honour Society’s Regional Advisor of the Year award. One of 11 people in North America to receive the honor, Long is an office coordinator and graduate secretary at the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science.

Marshall Street Records, SU’s student-run record label, released Electro Cuse Vol. 2, which features electronic music made by former and current Syracuse students.

larry.jpgLarry Martin

miguel_sapp.jpgMiguel Sapp ’82, L’88, G’89


Newhouse professor

Douglas Quin

Photo courtesy of Ryan Vachon


SU Trustee Art Monk ’80 and Orange quarterback Ryan Nassib ’12, G’13 were among those honored at the 55th annual National Football Foundation Awards Dinner on December 4 in New York City. A 1979 All-America wide receiver, Monk was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. He is the 18th Orange man to enter the hall of fame. Nassib was honored as a 2012 National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete. He is the fifth Orange player to receive the award.

The SU men’s soccer team advanced to the third round of the NCAA tourney for the first time in program history, defeating Cornell and Virginia Commonwealth before falling to Georgetown in a penalty-kick shootout.

The SU men’s cross country team finished 15th at the 2012 NCAA Championship in Louisville. The squad also collected its third Big East title in four years. Martin Hehir ’16 won the Big East race, and Sarah Pagano ’13 finished ninth in the women’s race to lead the SU women.

The SU women’s field hockey team won its third Big East regular season title in the last four years. Head coach Ange Bradley was named the conference’s Coach of the Year for the fourth time, and Iona Holloway ’13 was selected as Defensive Player of the Year. In the NCAA tournament, the Orange women reached the Final Four for the second time in program history.

SU women’s soccer player Brittany Anghel ’14 was named Big East Goalkeeper of the Year.