Syracuse University Magazine

Orange Central 2012


Photo Gallery

Recipients of the Arents Award, the University’s highest alumni honor, gather with Chancellor Nancy Cantor for a group photo (from left): Art Monk ’80, Pro Football Hall of Famer, business leader, community service activist, and SU trustee; Jane Werner Present ’56, philanthropist and founder of the Friends of Leadership & Public Service High School in New York City; Thom Filicia ’93, one of today’s most influential and respected interior designers; Dennis Crowley ’98, co-founder and CEO of Foursquare, a free mobile application that helps people make the most of where they are.


Art Monk ’80 accepts the 2012 Arents Award for excellence in athletic achievement and community service.


The Melvin A. Eggers Senior Alumni Award is presented during Orange Central to alumni who have graduated more than 50 years ago and demonstrated loyalty and service to Syracuse University. Pictured (left to right): Eleanor Ludwig ’43, G’45, 2005 Eggers Award recipient; Brian Spector ’78, president of the SU Alumni Association; Shirley Fenner Reidenbough ’54, 2012 Eggers Award recipient; and Warren Kimble ’57, renowned folk artist and former SU cheerleader. 


Brian Spector ’78 (center) with Student Philanthropy Council members Simone Goldslager ’15 and Andrew Brown ’15 at the Orange Central tailgate party.


Social media innovator Dennis Crowley ’98 (standing at right) helps young student entrepreneurs cultivate their business plans at Idea Jam. 


Floyd Little ’67 signs copies of his book Promises to Keep on the Shaw Quad before the SU football game against Louisville. 


Members of Syracuse Orange Bhangra perform at the Dance Showcase, which highlighted the talents of a variety of student performance groups. 


Caitlin Cronin ’11 and Stephen Barton ’12 show their Orange spirit at the tailgate party. 


Members of the Class of 1962 celebrate their 50th reunion.


Homecoming queen Lauren Meadors ’13 offers a pose. The court members pictured behind her are (left to right) Andre Sadler ’13, Chelsea Marion ’13, and Lawrence Jackson ’13.