Syracuse University Magazine

Orange women's lacrosse


Orange women's lacrosse midfielder Christina Dove '10 (12) helped SU return to the NCAA Final Four for the second time in the past three years. Dove led the team in scoring and finished her career as one of the top scorers in the sport's history. She is tied for ninth on the NCAA Division I career goals list (250) and is 11th in career points (335). She earned All-America First-Team honors along with goalie Liz Hogan '11, who led the nation in saves.

News Makers

SU Trustee Arielle Tepper Madover '94 produced Red, a Broadway hit that won six Tony Awards, including best play. The drama, about abstract expressionist painter Mark Rothko, collected the most awards at the event.

Donald W. Meinig, Maxwell Research Professor of Geography Emeritus, was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the world's most prestigious honor societies. Jaklin Kornfilt, professor of languages, literatures, and linguistics, received the 2010 Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, which promotes academic collaborations in Germany among top scholars and scientists from around the world. 

The Newhouse School collected two 2009 Mark of Excellence Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists. "Tough Choices, Tough Times," a special report that was part of the school's annual Student Voice Project, was the national winner in the online in-depth reporting category. More than 50 students and faculty members worked on the report, which explored how the economy affected 18- to 25-year-olds. MPJ Magazine, produced by the school's military photojournalism program, was a national finalist in the best student magazine category. Fifteen students created the project's multimedia content. 

Donald I. Siegel, Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence and a longtime faculty member of the Earth sciences department, was appointed to a three-year term as chair of the Water Sciences and Technology Board of the National Research Council. 

The Bitter Chalice, a screenplay co-written by Beverly Allen, a professor of French, Italian, and comparative literature, was named best feature-length screenplay in a competition for unproduced scripts at the Roma Independent Film Festival.  

The 2010 issue of Stone Canoe, an arts journal published by SU, was awarded a silver medal in the anthology category at the Independent Publisher Book Awards celebration in New York City this spring. The journal's editor, Robert Colley, is an associate dean at University College.

College of Law graduate Gregory D. Eriksen L'10 received the 2010 Burton Award for Distinguished Legal Writing. His article, "Breaking Wind, Fixing Wind: Facilitating Wind Energy Development in New York State," was published in the Syracuse Law Review (Volume 60, Book 1) and was one of 15 works selected nationwide for the annual award, which recognizes law students and practitioners for exceptional writing. 

The seventh annual Syracuse International Film Festival will be held October 13-17 in venues across Syracuse. Among the highlights of this year's festival will be the premiere of Session, a psychological thriller directed by Haim Bouzaglo that was filmed in Syracuse in 2007.

Sports Notes

floyd littleOrange football great Floyd Little '67 was enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, in August.

Former SU head football coach Dick MacPherson was enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Indiana, in July.

Orange All-America forward Wes Johnson ’11 was the No. 4 pick in the 2010 NBA Draft, going to the Minnesota Timberwolves, where he’ll join Jonny Flynn ’11, a first-round selection last year. The New York Knicks scooped up guard Andy Rautins ’10 as the 38th player taken in the draft, giving him the opportunity to play in SU’s favorite home away from the Dome—Madison Square Garden. 

SU men’s lacrosse longstick midfielder Joel White ’11, defenseman John Lade ’11, and goalie John Galloway ’11 were named to the U.S. Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association  (USILA) All-America First Team. Seven other SU players received All-America recognition as well. In addition, the USILA honored White as the nation’s best midfielder, and Galloway as the country’s top goaltender. Galloway was also named to the 2010 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Men’s At-Large Second Team.

Photo courtesy of Pro Football Hall of Fame