Syracuse University Magazine

The Shaw Quadrangle


Chancellor Nancy Cantor and the SU Board of Trustees dedicated the Quad in honor of Chancellor Emeritus Kenneth A. “Buzz” Shaw, naming it the Kenneth A. Shaw Quadrangle in November. The honor recognizes Shaw, who retired as the 10th Chancellor in 2004, for the transformative role he played in making SU the thriving, high-impact institution it is today. “Buzz Shaw’s achievements laid the groundwork for all that we’re doing today, from our strategic investments in signature academic programs and the facilities that house them, to signature engagements with our community,” Chancellor Cantor says. “To recognize his expansive impact and its centrality to SU—now and into the future—we thought it would be fitting to dedicate the space at the very heart of the University, the central place that connects academic life, student life, and athletics, to Buzz.”

News Makers

Two of this year’s Nobel laureates hold strong connections to the Syracuse campus: Peruvian novelist Mario Vargas Llosa, who won the prize for literature; and Ei-ichi Negishi, who was awarded the prize in chemistry. Vargas Llosa delivered a series of lectures on campus in spring 1988. Professor Myron Lichtblau, a Latin American literature scholar who then chaired the foreign language department, was instrumental in bringing Vargas Llosa to Syracuse. He transcribed the novelist’s lectures, organized them into essays, and served as editor of Vargas Llosa’s A Writer’s Reality, which was published by Syracuse University Press in 1991. Lichtblau, who passed away in 2002, wrote the book’s introduction as well. Negishi, Herbert Brown Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Purdue University, began his academic career in the College of Arts and Sciences in 1972, rising to the rank of full professor in 1979. During those years, Negishi published the seminal work for which he received the Nobel, which he shared with two colleagues.

College of Law professor Robert Odawi Porter ’86 was elected president of the Seneca Nation in November. Porter, who was raised on the nation’s Allegany Territory in western New York, is Dean’s Research Scholar of Indigenous Nations Law and director of the Center for Indigenous Law, Governance, and Citizenship at the law school. 

Newhouse School professor Bruce Strong received the Robin F. Garland Educator Award from the National Press Photographers Association. The award is given for outstanding service as a photojournalism educator. 

In August, Syracuse University welcomed visitors from around the world as host of the seventh International Conference on Indoor Air Quality, Ventilation, and Energy Conservation in Buildings (IAQVEC), a premier conference series held every three years. Previous conference sites include Montreal; Lyon, France; Changsha, China; Toronto; and Sendai, Japan. L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science professor Jensen Zhang served as the conference chairman.

For the second consecutive year, Syracuse University was named a “Military Friendly School” by G.I. Jobs magazine. For 2011, the University ranks in the top 15 percent of colleges, universities, and trade schools nationwide that are doing the most to embrace America’s veterans. Criteria for making the list include efforts to recruit and retain military and veteran students, recruiting results, and academic accreditations. The list serves as a guide for veterans interested in pursuing higher education.

Syracuse University was ranked eighth among 258 national universities in the 2010 Washington Monthly college rankings. SU rated first among these universities in a service category, based on the percentage of staff supporting community service; the number of academic courses that incorporate service relative to school size; and whether the institution provides scholarships for community service. SU also ranked high in the social mobility category, which was measured by the number of students receiving Pell grants combined with their graduation rate.

School of Information Studies professor Scott Bernard G’98 was named acting federal chief architect in the Executive Office of the President of the United States, serving with the Office of Management and Budget’s E-Government and Information Technology group. Bernard, on leave from the iSchool while serving in this position, is working with the federal chief information officer to promote and monitor enterprise architecture planning efforts in federal agencies.

Sports Notes

The Syracuse football team is headed to the inaugural Pinstripe Bowl at Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, where it will meet Kansas State on December 30 (3:30 p.m., ESPN). For Orange head coach Doug Marrone ’91, the bowl game—SU’s first postseason appearance since 2004—will also be a homecoming as he grew up in the Bronx. Marrone guided the Orange to a 7-5 regular season record and was named the American Football Coaches Association Region I Coach of the Year. SU and Kansas State (7-5) have met in two previous bowl games. SU posted a 26-3 victory in the 2001 Bowl, and K-State won, 35-18, in the 1997 Fiesta Bowl.

The SU men’s and women’s cross country teams won the NCAA Northeast Regional Championship for the second straight year. Forrest Misenti ’13 paced the men, with a sixth-place finish in the 10-kilometer race at Madison, Connecticut. Lauren Penney ’12 placed ninth in the 6-kilometer run to lead the Orange women. Both teams advanced to the NCAA championship meet in Terre Haute, Indiana, where the men placed 14th, matching their 2009 finish, and the women collected a program-best 10th place. Pat Dupont ’12 crossed the finish line in 33rd to lead the Orange men and earn All-America honors. He completed the 10-kilometer race in 30:26.0. Catherine DeSarle ’11 finished 50th, clocking in at 20:59.7 in the 6-kilometer run to guide the Orange women. The men’s squad also captured its second straight Big East championship, outdistancing runnerup Louisville by four points to win the meet, hosted by SU at Jamesville Beach Park. The women’s team finished third. Head coach Chris Fox and his staff were named the 2010 Big East Coaching Staff of the Year. Fox was also named the Northeast Region’s Men’s Coach of the Year for the second straight season by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. 

The SU field hockey team won its second consecutive Big East regular season title and went on to capture the conference tournament with a 1-0 victory against UConn in the championship. Coach Ange Bradley’s Orange women have won two of the last three Big East tourney titles. The team advanced to the second round of the NCAA tournament and completed its season with a 16-5 record. Midfielder Martina Loncarica ’12 was named a first-team All-American by both the Longstrenth/National Field Hockey Coaches Association and Midfielder Leonie Geyer ’14 received All-Rookie Squad honors from

Orange men’s basketball coach Jim Boeheim ’66, G’73 collected a gold medal at the 2010 FIBA World Championships in Istanbul, Turkey, in September. Boeheim was a member of the coaching staff for the USA basketball squad, which upended Turkey, 81-64, in the finals to secure the world title. The win automatically qualified the U.S. team for a berth in the 2012 Summer Olympics in London.